Basil Day

It’s Basil Day At Marcella House!

This morning I took the potted basil out of my windowsill herb garden and set it on the coffee table. I decided it’s time to educate myself on herbs so the plan is to learn about a new herb every day. I sat on the couch in front of the basil plant with Rodale’s Illustrated Encyclopedia of Herbs and read the whole section on basil. I had pinched off a leaf and rubbed it between my fingers to release it’s fragrance as I read. When I was done I got the kitchen scissors out and pruned a nice batch off the top of the plant to encourage a more dense growth. After setting the clump of cuttings on the coffee table I read the Essential Oil’s Desk Reference on basil. It pretty much repeated the highlights from the Herb Encyclopedia. I was now inspired to defuse some basil essential oil and contemplate how to implement the cuttings in my cooking today. 

IMG_3943tag.jpg

When lunchtime came around it was a grass-fed turkey patty with Himalayan sea salt, tumeric for taste, topped with a basil cutting. While it was cooking I sliced up the rest of the basil leaves and stems to put in an organic salad. I read that the flowers are edible so I tossed them in the salad too. It ended up being the most enjoyable salad! My dressing was First Fresh Olive Oil and Bragg’s Apple Cider Vinegar (with the mother). 

IMG_3945

(Turkey burger w/ Basil sides: onion, mushroom, garlic clove, sauerkraut, and a date)

I have no idea what the herb of the day will be tomorrow… Maybe Mint?

About Lorraine Marcella

photographer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

